Assignment 1

Image

 

 

a) On March 21st, my site would have approximately eleven hours of daylight.

b) On December 21st, the sun first hits my site at approximately 7:30am. On June 21st, the sun first hits my site at approximately 5:30am.

c) On July 1st, my site has the most hours of sun compared to the rest of the days of the year.

d) On August 15th at 3:00pm, the sun has an altitude of about 46 degrees, and an azimuth of about 260 degrees. At this time, my site is being struck with sun.

e) if I were to build a porch on my site that was cool in the summer and warm in the winter, I would need to build some sort of shade structure, so that the sun would not hit the people sitting on the porch in the summer, but would let the sun through in the wintertime when the sun have a much lower altitude in the sky. If I were to move my site slightly farther south west, the large trees there could act as the shade structure in the summer time and let light through in the winter when the leaves fall. 

f) The large building to the west would make it a less favorable direction for large windows, because people may be able to look in. The north east would be a better direction for large windows, because it looks out on a large green space, and would also let in the morning light.

 

Leave a Reply

